It looks like you're using an outdated browser.
For a better experience, we recommend switching to a more modern browser like Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge. Learn more.
Online Banking Login

SCCU History

Proudly serving those who live and work in our community since 1951

Our founding members had a vision that there was a better way to serve the community and provide financial services, and they worked tirelessly to set us on the path we follow today. 

A Little About Us

SCCU began in 1951, with seven founding members, as Patrick Air Force Base Credit Union serving 28 members with $372 in assets. Today, SCCU serves more than 654,000 members, and we have over $9 billion in assets, making us the third largest credit union in Florida. We serve 34 counties, with 66 branch locations that span Florida’s east coast, from Flagler to Miami-Dade counties. 

SCCU Timeline

SCCU was chartered on June 7, 1951, as Patrick Air Force Base Credit Union to serve as a savings institution and create a source of credit for military personnel stationed at the base. Although the credit union name changed as our footprint extended, and our services have expanded to keep pace with the evolving needs of our members, the idea of cooperative ownership has not changed. We exist solely to serve members. 


SCCU is founded on June 7th as Patrick Air Force Base Credit Union by seven civil service employees with 28 members and $372 in assets.


Merged with several credit unions:  Brevard Postal CU, Brevard County CU, City of Cocoa CU, City of Melbourne CU, City of Titusville CU, and Soroban CU.


First mobile banking platform introduced via a motorized bus used to process transactions for members in locations throughout the county.


Patrick Air Force Base Credit Union changes its name to Space Coast Credit Union to better reflect its expanded field of membership and geographic area.


SCCU expands into Volusia, Indian River, and Flagler Counties. is launched. Express Lending call center introduced to take loan applications by phone.


SCCU merges with Eastern Financial Florida Credit Union. Membership expands to include Miami-Dade, Broward, Palm Beach, Pinellas, Hillsborough, Clay, Duval, Nassau and St. Johns County.


Watchdog brand and logo introduced. Membership exceeds 400,000 members and over $4.2 billion in assets with 59 branch locations.